top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoody & Co.

Soundpeats TrueAIR 2 White Edition Review


IPX 4 rating (protects from sweat & water splashes only, not waterproof)

What's in the box:

  • 1 charging cable

  • 1 charging case

  • 1 pair of Soundpeats TrueAir 2

  • 1 user manual

  • 1 warranty card



TrueAIR 2 in both ears

Today I was pleasantly surprised by a mysterious package in the mailbox! A viewer sent in these earbuds in WHITE because I did not know white earbuds even existed from Soundpeats! Thank you so much! What do I think of them? Read on!


Soundpeats TrueAir 2 Review: Best Apple Airpods alternative? I really like Apple's earpod design because it just fits and sounds right in my ears. The TrueAir 2 has the look and the spec sheet. After the review of the TruEngine 3 SE, I could not wait to try the new TrueAir 2 with the newest chipset from Qualcomm to finally address the common latency issue in pretty much all Bluetooth earbuds I've tried so far.

Built, Features & Design:

Out of the box, the case feels small and compact. The lid opens and closes firmly with a premium feel. Removing the earbuds is easy and the magnetic case keeps them in place when placing them back in. The material choice and built quality for the earbuds are a bit disappointing.


The earbuds feel a little cheap, the joints are sharp and have gaps in them. The first time I tried them in my ears, I felt the sharp edges because the plastic joints were not smooth. So even though they look similar, many other earbuds fit & feel better like the AirPods and Xiaomi AirDots to name a few. *There are silicon earbuds/hook covers you can purchase to make the buds more comfortable. I wish Soundpeats would have included some extra ear-tips in the box.

Adopting the newest Qualcomm QCC3040 and Bluetooth 5.2 technology, the Soundpeats TrueAir 2 looks great on paper but the real-life experience falls a little flat. Connections drop like flies using my phone but not on my laptop. There was no IP rating (waterproof rating) on the box nor on the website but somewhere in the FAQ, there's a mention of IPX4 so I would be very careful when using this pair of earbuds.

  • Touch x1 for volume up (right) and down (left).

  • Touch x2 for play/pause

  • Touch x3 for voice assistance

  • Touch and quick hold for skip/previous song.

  • Touch and long hold to power off.

Sound quality: Sound quality is TrueAir 2's weakest point. I wouldn't recommend these for music enjoyment. Perhaps I'm used to using Apple AirPods but these are not on par. Since there are no rubber ear-tips, it doesn't feel like you are sealed into your music while indoors/outdoors. It served its purpose and allows you to hear your surrounding while doing other tasks, for safety reasons?


In coffee shops when there are a lot of people talking, trying to zone out the noise is nearly impossible. The louder I turn the volume up, the louder the unwanted outside noise seemingly becomes.


While jogging wearing these earbuds, I still hear bikes, cars, & people talking while music is playing. I eventually forgot that they are in my ears because they are so lightweight. Calls quality is great with the dual mic and CVC noise cancellation. Battery life: After 90 mins at 40% volume (yes these are loud), the earbuds have around 75% left. The case is supposed to carry another 4 full charges so you can go a whole week without charging. The case comes with a USB type-c port and an indicator which I like. It has no LEDs indicator inside for the remaining battery which is annoying but I'm guessing they are trying their best to slim down the case. Final thoughts: I don't have the previous generation of TrueAir to compare but these are not one of my favorites. I had really high hopes for these for gamers but still not good enough yet. Yes, it is more affordable than the AirPods and it shows.


What I like about TrueAIR 2 is how compact and light-weight they are. The case is much flatter and does not bulge out in my small purse. They also come in color options of mint green, baby pink, & black. So if you are in the market for a pair of earbuds that makes great calls or video/voice chat then these are good.

◆◆◆◈◇ Overall ◆◆◆◈◇ Comfort ◆◆◆◇◇ Connectivity ◆◆◆◇◇ Sound Quality ◆◆◆◇◇ Call Quality ◆◆◆◆◇ Battery Life ◆◆◆◆◇ Built Quality


Thanks for dropping by and thank you G.S for the gift!




J

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page