top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoody & Co.

Omron BP654 Wrist Cuff Review

Updated: Oct 22, 2020

Compared to Omron HEM-780 Arm Cuff & Pharmacy Grade Blood Pressure Monitor


A great life includes great health, that includes monitoring your blood pressure occasionally to see any changes or fluctuations. Today I will be comparing the wireless Omron 7 Series Plus BP654 for wrist cuff vs 'Omron' arm cuff. How accurate is either one? Can an Omron Wrist Cuff Blood Pressure Monitor be as good or better than an Omron Arm Cuff? Let's find out...


Omron 7 Series Plus Wireless Wrist Blood Pressure Monitor - BP654


Product description:

  • Ultra Silent Inflation

  • Heart Zone Guidance

  • Bluetooth® Smart

  • BP Level Indicator Bar

  • Irregular Heartbeat Detector

  • Advanced Averaging

  • Memory Storage 100

  • iOS & Android Apps

  • Online Web-Solution

  • Storage Case

  • Battery Type: 2 AAA Included

  • Wirelessly transfer reading and track result with the free Omron Wellness App


What's in the box?

Comparing Omron BP654 with my current Omron HEM-780


So I did quite a bit of testing side by side with the Regular Omron Monitor. The Omron Wrist monitor had a 'leveler' and turns blue when you are holding it correctly, red if not. It was similar to the Arm Monitor, but my SYSTOLIC (Top #) is usually 5-20 numbers off compared to the HEM-780) on numerous occasions. The pulse (beats per minute, bpm) readings were the most consistent.



I also took this wrist monitor to my local pharmacy, and had a few readings....




......After repeated tests, wrist monitor is usually off by 10 points on Systolic Pressure readings.





Price: Regular $119. On Sale for $89.99 Cdn.


Portability: 8/10


Reliability: 4.5/10




Pros:

-Portable, light.

-Does not need plug source.

-Comes in cute black case.

-Good for people who can not take readings on arm.


Cons:

-A bit pricey.

-Inconsistent readings.



Tips: Take blood pressure when relaxed and in comfortable upright position.

Take both arms (left and right) side. If drastically different could mean other health issues. Talk to your health care provider. *Please note this does not replace regular health check ups but is an supplement to your doctor's visits.


The final verdict, I'm not really sure which one is most accurate, but assume the one at the pharmacy is commercial grade and most reliable. The Omron Wrist is usually 5-10 mmHG off for Systolic Pressure, and a few mmHg off for Diastolic. (This includes the experiment that used my large Omron arm cuff version.) It does state that BP change can range as much as 10-30 points within a few minutes. So it's best to take the average of repeated measurements over a period of time.


After many testing, I feel the wrist is not as accurate and I often get the 'error' message or an unusually high SYSTOLIC reading. A slight shift in body or arm position can change readings dramatically.


For simplicity, I did not bother testing the wireless blue-tooth features because I was not pleased with the inconsistency of my readings, and there's no point of trying to transfer this data.


I would recommend a cuff monitor over this wrist monitor because it gives me a peace of mind, and although the wrist one seems accurate sometimes, it is inconsistent and varies drastically too often.


I've been curious on which blood pressure monitor is right for me, and I finally got to do this testing. I'm glad I get to share this info with you guys! Thanks for reading my review. Leave your thoughts below.




Joody



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page