top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoody & Co.

Grey Lipstick Collection (8+3 Bonus Shades)

Updated: Oct 28, 2020


Grey Lipstick Swatches collage

Messy hair don't care.

Grey Lipstick Arm Swatches

Grey Lipstick Collection

Grey Lipstick Tubes Bottom





  • 121 Wonder Lip Paint Splashed J. Cat Beauty (10ml) Grey ink that was not as pigmented as I would like. This was extremely liquidity and bled around my lip lines. Perhaps I need to use a clear/grey lip-liner/primer to make it work. Recommended only if you want a greyish lip-gloss, or to dupe the more expensive OCC Lip Tars. It's just not that practical to be carrying a lip brush for touch ups on the go. Possible dupes: OCC (Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics) Lip Tar "Dangerous".


  • 10 Black Sesame Macaron NYX (4.5g) Pretty, pale pastel grey color. Very pigmented & creamy. May not suit all skin tones because it is very white based. DIY: Create your own grey, see collage below.


  • 12958 London Skies Wet N Wild Megalast (3.3g) Pastel Grey, a little deeper than Black Sesame by NYX. I got this on Halloween in 2017. Highly pigmented, creamy and affordable. It may be a little too light for me, but I like this color. Use a deeper grey lip liner to make it more wearable. Recommended. Possible dupes: Haze by NYX.


  • 40 Ultra Dare NYX (4.5g) Deep Bluish Grey, highly pigmented and creamy. Possible dupes: A lipstick version of "Stone Fox" by NYX, Melt Cosmetics "Space Cake".


  • 104 PHL #MCM Man Candy Mon J. Cat Beauty. (3g) Deep bluish grey. Another favorite of mine! Since this is a darker color, it is more suitable for many skin tones than the lighter ones. Has a minty scent. Affordable and trendy. Possible dupes: A lipstick version of "Stone Fox" by NYX.


  • Black Sesame Slushy Matte Lip Cooler J. Cat Beauty. (8ml) Medium deep grey, mousse like texture, a little trickier to apply. It does dry down a nice matte and is comfortable to wear. Packaging states it is a lip gloss and the name is not printed on the packaging. Possible dupes: A mousse version of Man Candy Mon by J. Cat Beauty.


  • 324 Velvet Passion Kiko Milano (3.5g) Deep bluish slate grey, and it is starting to remind me of a lot of the grey lipsticks I already have. Hopefully, this post can help you not buy the same lip color over & over again! This lipstick has a slight vanilla scent, and a square like tip. I appreciate the packaging because it has a magnetic cap & won't pop off in your bag.


  • 01 Stone Fox Liquid Suede (4ml) Deep Bluish Grey Liquid Cream Lipstick. This is highly pigmented and one dip was enough to cover my entire lips. It was comfortable on my lips and never fully dried down. This formula is fabulous & I look forward to trying other colors from this line. Possible dupes: Ultra Dare by NYX, Man Candy Mon by J. Cat, 323 Velvet Passion Matte by Kiko.


  • There is another grey liquid lipstick "Always On Chill Zone" by Smashbox but I don't have that one, so I can not pin point exactly which grey it most resembles. Perhaps you can help me pin it down.


  • Please go on their website to check for current prices because they tend to go on sale occasionally.




Bonus Shades:

Mixing White & Black Lipsticks Collage

White Black Grey Arm Swatches

J. Cat Beauty PHL116, PHL118, Kiko 325 Lipstick tubes

J. Cat Beauty PHL116, PHL118, Kiko 325 tubes



Bonus Shades:

  • 116 Pout-Holic Lipstick #RATEDR J. Cat Beauty (3g) : White, creamy, opaque, best for mixing with other colors because it is so creamy it can easily be blended. Possible dupes: Kat Von D Studded Kiss Creme "White Out" , NYX "Coconut", Maybelline "Wicked White", Bite Beauty "Blanc", Sephora "In The Clouds".








My Favorites:

  1. Stone Fox Liquid Lipstick by NYX.

  2. 324 Slate Grey Velvet Passion Matte Lipstick by Kiko.

  3. London Skies by Wet N Wild.

  4. A tie between Man Candy Mon & Ultra Dare.


My Thoughts: This is my current grey lipstick collection. I don't wear grey lip color often, but I simply couldn't resist buying another grey lipstick. The last 3 colors are not grey, but when mixed they become grey. Although I wouldn't wear white lipstick on it's own, I like to mix white with a lot of my lipsticks to transform the color or to create a beautiful ombre look. While playing with a white lipstick and seeing how pretty the colors turned out, I would highly recommend getting an affordable white & black lipstick, not just the brands I'm using here, but whatever you can find available.


Thanks for reading. Leave a comment below to let us know how you feel about wearing grey lipsticks.



Joody

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page